Foyers and Stratherrick voters will have the opportunity to return their member of Parliament at the UK General Election on Thursday 8th June.  There are five candidates on the ballot for the Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey Constituency.   Foyers voters number 197 and as usual the polling station is at Foyers Primary School.  The 387 voters from Stratherrick can vote at Stratherrick Primary School and not at the Stratherrick Hall.  Voters should place a cross on the ballot paper beside one name only.

The five candidates are all men.

Donald Macleod BOYD of the Scottish Christian Party (Proclaiming Christ’s Lordship).  Dr Boyd lives in Westhill, Inverness and is a medical doctor and church minister by background and training. He stood in the 2015 election and polled 422 votes.

Ritchie CUNNINGHAM of the Scottish Liberal Democrats is from Nairn and is the former Head Teacher at Inverness High School. He has been a Highland Council candidate for the Liberal Democrats in Nairn.

Drew HENDRY of the Scottish National Party (SNP) served as the MP for this constituency in the last Parliament and was previously a Highland Councillor for the Aird and Loch Ness Ward.  In the 2015 election Drew Hendry unseated Danny Alexander.  Mr Hendry polled over 50% of the votes cast and had a majority of over 10,000 votes.

Mike ROBB of the Scottish Labour Party also stood for our constituency in 2015 when he took third place.  Mr Robb stood for our constituency in 2010 as well, when he came second. Mr Robb lives in Muir of Ord and is an IT Consultant.

Nicholas TULLOCH of the Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party is the youngest candidate of the five.  Mr Tulloch works for a financial securities firm in Edinburgh and his address on the Notice of Poll is at The Monastery, Highland Club, Fort Augustus.

Additional Information is available on the Highland Council website

This information was posted on 12 May 2017.